Regulating Council

The right to a protected apellation for our wines dates back to the Splanish Wine Statue established in 1933.

In 1945 the Regulating Council was established and in 1947 the first regulation was approved which only covered fortified wines, the so-called Tarragona Classics.

Modifications in 1959 (incorporating dry and semi-sweet wines) and thereafter to the present day have gradually updated the range of wines covered, always guaranteeing their identity, quality and origin.


Current legislation of the DO Tarragona:

  • DO Tarragona Specification
  • DO Tarragona Regulation: Order ARP/276/2005 published 4th June 2005, in the Diari Oficial de la Generalitat de Catalunya núm. 4410)

Both can be downloaded from Incavi's web page: DO Tarragona Specification.

Origin and Quality

The function of the Regulatory Council of the DO Tarragona is to guarantee the origin and quality of the products covered under the DO Tarragona label.

All wines bottled and marketed as DO Tarragona pass two types of analysis, a physical-chemical analysis that is carried out in an accredited laboratory such as the laboratory of analysis of the Enological Station of Reus and an organoleptic analysis, that is, a tasting by the tasting panel of the DO Tarragona.


Download the logo in pdf format, png format, or jpg format.

The Council

President: Josep Lluís Grogués Mañé
Secretary: M. Àngels Collado Renovell

Group A: Growers belonging to Cooperatives or Sats.

Representative 1: Josep Lluís Grogués Mañé
Substitute 1: Josep Enric Tutusaus Calull

Representative 2: Joan Carles Armeijach
Substitute 2: Josep Prats Moreno

Representative 3: Jaume Ferrando Bricollé
Substitute 3: Gerard Freixes Palau

Representative 4: Francesc Boronat
Substitute 4: Ramon Antonio Gavarró Madrid

Group B: Individual growers

Representative 1: Juan Saperas Freixas
Substitute 1: Josep X. Martí Ventura

Group C: Producers who do not bottle their wines

Representative 1: Coop. Agrícola de Vallmoll, SCCL. CIF: F43013531 (David Bove.)
Substitute 1: Agrícola i Secció de Crèdit de Vilabella, SCCL. CIF: F43012566 (Carles Figueras Saperas.)

Group D: Producers that bottle their wines

Representative 1: Vinícola de Nulles, SCCL CIF: F43012079 (Joan Castellví Argilaga)
Substitute 1: Vins Padró, S.L.CIF: B43001163 (Ernest Padró Farré)

Representative 2: Agrícola i Caixa Agrària de Bràfim, SCCL CIF: F43011592 (Joan Josep Raventos Coral)
Substitute 2: Projecte Estol S.L.CIF: B55618037 (Sara Batalla Fortuny)

Representative 3: De Muller, S.A.CIF: A43000629 (Pere Martorell Garcia)
Substitute 3: Tomas Francisco Llauradó Reverchon (Celler Mas del Botó)

Representative 4: Unió Corporació Alimentària, SCCL. CIF: F433011287 (Josep Anton Llaquet)
Substitute 4: Celler Biopaumerà: Helga Harbig Cerezo