Winners of the DO Tarragona wine competition

On the 29th May, the Regulating Council of the DO Tarragona presented the awards for the XVI edition of the DO Tarragona wine competition at a dinner held in the Hotel Class in Valls. The tasting was held in the Oenology Faculty of the University of Tarragona on the 20th may under the supervision of Montse Nadal, a teacher at the Faculty.

This year, Vins Padr贸 of Brafim and De Muller of Reus won the majority of awards. The ceremony was attended by a number of local dignitaries including the Director-Genral of INCAVI Joan Aguado.

69 wines from 15 different producers were presented at the tasting. The jury made up of some 20 tasters, awarded the following prizes:

Unoaked White
1r, Ipsis Blanc Flor de Vins Padr贸 de Br脿fim
2n Adernats Seducci贸 2008 de Vin铆cola de Nulles

Oaked White
1r Chadonnay 2008 De Muller de Reus,
2n, Mas Vicen莽 Chardonnay de Cabra del Camp

1r Solimar 2008 De Muller,
2n Ipsis Rosado Vins Padr贸

Unoaked Red
1r, Ipsis 2008 Vins Padr贸,
2n Capvespre Agr铆cola de Rodony脿

Oaked Red
1r Bacanal Crianza Vins Padr贸,
2n Merlot 2006 De Muller

1r Aureo Seco. Muy Viejo De Muller
2n Vino Rancio Cooperativa de Vila-rodona

Sweet Fortified
1r Mistela Cooperativa de Vila-rodona
2n Aureo Semi Dulce. Muy Viejo De Muller

A special award was also made to the Rodony脿 cooperative for their Capvespre de Rodony脿 made with 100% Sumoi, in recognition of their work to preserve and promote this Authoctonous grape variety.